Beet Hummus

When I was a kid beets aways seemed disgusting to me. Now I love them in juices, cooked dishes, and enticing salads. It wasn’t until the other day that I was scrolling through Pinterest when I saw this beautiful bright pink hummus. I immediately wanted to create a version of my own. By the way, I was ecstatic when I blended this up to see the color of this hummus. I got really excited, like so excited that I jumped up and down. That’s how you know you love food.

434x288xbeets-6-300x199.jpg.pagespeed.ic.JwUdw8-Uis

Beets have a special place in Ayurveda. They are tridoshic, which means they are suitable for all dosha types, so you can cook them for your entire family. Beets provide antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and detoxification support to our bodies. These colorful root vegetables contain powerful nutrient compounds that help protect against heart disease, birth defects, and certain cancers, especially colon cancer. Though the iron content of red beets isn’t high, it is of the finest quality which makes it a powerful cleanser and builder of blood. This is the reason why beets are very effective in treating many ailments caused by toxic environments. Similar to carrots, Ayurveda advises that beets are cooked. So eat your beets!

 

I paired the hummus with these amazingly awesome chips. Go get them NOW.

I paired the hummus with these amazingly healthy chips. They are made of Kabocha Squash, Carrots and Blue Potatos! Go get them NOW.

 

IMG_1544

Looks like sorbet!

So excited! I figured out how you can print my recipes right off my blog! Slowly getting the hang of this blogging thing. Now print it off or you can write it down like they did in the old days and keep it in your recipe box!

Beet Hummus

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

DSC_0484

Ingredients:

  • 3 small chopped beets
  • 1/2 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 garlic cloves chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • juice of 1 small lemon
  • 1/2 cup of tahini
  • 3 cups of soaked and cooked chick peas
  • mint sprig

Directions:

  1. Boil beets in medium saucepan for 25-30 minutes till soft.
  2. Drain and let beets cool and chop them a little more.
  3. Add all ingredients in food processor except mint and blend till smooth and pink.
  4. Pour hummus into a beautiful bowl and garnish with mint spring.
  5. Enjoy with chips, pita or veggies:)

I enjoyed this wonderful dish with some good friends, Ila and Justin. My dear friend Ila made this beautiful peach salad and avocado dressing to accompany. Justin made some loose leaf hibiscus tea. Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of his tea…but you can imagine.

DSC_0490 DSC_0495

Last pic of the day. Huge storm rolled through San Diego yesterday and brought a delightful evening sky.

Last pic of the day. Huge storm rolled through San Diego yesterday and brought a delightful evening sky.

“We can’t talk about our own health without understanding our place in our environment, because in order to fulfill our potential we have to live in the context of our surroundings. We have to know our place in the ecosystem of which we are a part, and this means living ‘consciously’: being aware of nature and how it affects us and how we, in turn, affect nature.”
― Sebastian Pole, Discovering the True You with Ayurveda: How to Nourish, Rejuvenate, and Transform Your Life


Leave a Reply

