We are all connected.

Mornin Pancakes!

Mornin Pancakes!

DSC_0178

Friggin Sea Urchins at the Farmers Market...don't worry I didn't try those guys

Friggin Sea Urchins at the Farmers Market…don’t worry I didn’t try those guys

DSC_0189

Love OB

Love OB

DSC_0215

DSC_0220_2

DSC_0221_2

DSC_0226

Bliss Balls: Sunflower seeds, raisins, dates, cranberries and rolled in coconut:)

Bliss Balls: Sunflower seeds, raisins, dates, cranberries and rolled in coconut:)

Blacks Beach Seal!

Blacks Beach Seal!

 

Tomatas growing grande

Tomatas growing grande

Patatas!

Patatas!

cucumbers!

cucumbers!

I’ve been meditating the shit out of myself since I’ve been living here. It brings so much clarity. I can’t stress enough how sitting with yourself and who you are can bring more beauty to your life. Not saying that all life problems wash away but you start to look at each encounter and each experience as a positive thing. Tonight I went to a meditation group in Del Mar and the instructor walked in and asked if we had ever meditated before, I said yes and then he began to tell us we would be mindfully breathing. I began to judge him right away. I was like oh shit this is going to be super beginner and this guy must be a novice. After about 2 minutes I caught myself. I became open to his teachings and reminded myself that with each person we meet they have something to teach us. We all lean on each other for support. By the way that was on of the best meditations I’ve ever had. I even had a realization of my next art piece. All I could find in my meditation was good things I could do for others. For life is a continuous cycle. So if we give love, we will receive love. And your act of love will pass on and on. Here it is…

The Mindfulness of Breathing meditation was popularized by Shakyamuni Buddha and Patanjali. It is the most common non-religious meditation practice found in Asia – from Sri Lanka to Japan, and from Mongolia to Taiwan. This meditation gives you the tools to anchor your experience on the kinetic sensation of the breath, allowing for increased focus within a broader context of empathetic awareness.

There are four stages to the Mindfulness of Breathing:

1. Count the breath just after it is fully expired. Count one number after each exhalation, counting from 1 to 10, and rebegining at 1 whenever you reach 10. If you loose count, or over-count, just rebegin at 1.

– The emphasis here is on calming down and settling awareness on the breath.

2. Count the breath just prior to inhaling. Count one number in anticipation of the inhalation, counting from 1 to 10, and rebegining at 1 whenever you reach 10. If you loose count, or over-count, just rebegin at 1.

– The emphasis here is on re-invigorating your awareness of the breath.

3. Stop counting and simply follow the “whole body breath.” Follow the kinetic experience of inhalation and exhalation as much as possible throughout your entire body.

– The emphasis here is on experiencing the breadth of conscious experience through mindfully breathing.

4. Focus on the initial contact point of airflow you can physically experience. This is often felt on the tips of the nostrils.

– The emphasis here is on focus within the wider breadth of awareness previously established.

– If you want to take this final stage even further, reflect on where the internal air element in “you” ends, and where the external air element outside begins, as you mindfully follow the inhalation and exhalation. Mindfully and self-reflectively breath while reflecting, “This air element is not me, not mine, not I. And, when I die, I will return it to the air element outside, releasing it for the last time.

 

Today be an act of love. It could be anything from opening the door for someone to recycling a plastic bottle. You don’t have to go start a non-profit to be a love leader! Acts of love can be big and small. Spread it. Like buttah on dat toast. hehehehehe

Thanks for reading:)

 

 


One comment

  1. Ohhhhh JG, how I miss your spirit! Come back and breathe with me in the Midwest again. Love lovelovelove and happinesses.


Leave a Reply

