Southern New Mexico

After driving 8 hours out of west texas I was super stoked to make it into New Mexico. I arrived in Carlsbad, NM around 5pm. Went to my swanky hotel…just kidding. It was anything but swanky, spring break infested with high school kids and dirty truck drivers. The Continental Inn. But it was AWESOME to have my own space for once. Haha. I havn’t had my own room in years it feels like.

To Carlsbad Caverns!

To Carlsbad Caverns!

whats up with the bullet holes?

whats up with the bullet holes?

IMG_0746

IMG_0731

IMG_0729

YAY!!!!!

YAY!!!!!

The first sight of the Cave! a one mile journey down into the earth!

The first sight of the Cave! a one mile journey down into the earth!

This cave began 250 million years ago with the creation of a 400-mie-long reef in an inland sea that covered  this region! cray cray!

This cave began 250 million years ago with the creation of a 400-mile-long reef in an inland sea that covered this region! cray cray!

Stalactites and Stalagmites! These were created by water that dripped or seeped down into the limestone.

Stalactites and Stalagmites! These were created by water that dripped or seeped down into the limestone.

Each raindrop falls to the ground and percolated downward, it absorbed co2 from air and soil and a week acid is formed.

Each raindrop falls to the ground and percolated downward, it absorbed co2 from air and soil and a week acid is formed.

As it continues to move down, the drop dissolved a little limestone, absorbing some of basic ingredients needed to build most cave formations- mineral calcite.

As it continues to move down, the drop dissolved a little limestone, absorbing some of basic ingredients needed to build most cave formations- mineral calcite.

billions and billions of calcite crystals formed into cave formations! look at those rock whale teeth!

billions and billions of calcite crystals formed into cave formations! look at those rock whale teeth!

as water drips from the ceiling the stalactites form! If they form from the bottom they are stalagmites! weeee

as water drips from the ceiling the stalactites form! If they form from the bottom they are stalagmites! weeee

After about an hour down in the cave I started shaking and having some quick breathing. I felt like the rocks were gonna fall on me and I was sweating! I realized that caves are cool but not my fav thing. I’m more of a mountain, sea, and tree girl. But all you cave dwellers… hell yeah for you!

DSC_0224

Truckin along!

Truckin along!

Southern NM is cool but the winds were so strong! I thought my car was gonna blow off the road! Not to mention the tumble weeds were wild! One that was like 3 ft tall came right for me at 75 miles an hour it scared the shit out of me. I pulled over immediately…Thank god those things are soft because I have to pull all those prickly sticks out from under my car and my hood. I started going a little Coo coo near the last 4 hours of the drive through NM. I called everyone I know…thanks for catchin up if I talked to ya!

my best friend. Lynda the silver lady. treatin me good except for some serious squeakin.

my best friend. Lynda the silver lady. treatin me good except for some serious squeakin.

DSC_0232

 

Pose of the day: Ardha Matsyendrasana -Increases appetite, stimulates digestive fire, destroys diseases, and awakens kundalini

Pose of the day: Ardha Matsyendrasana -Increases appetite, stimulates digestive fire, destroys diseases, and awakens kundalini

tHROW BACK! HEHEE lOVE YALL! One more state left till I get to California!!!! Arizona shine your desert sands and sun to lead me to the promise land. Life is beautiful. Missin my girl Rachael Armstrong today! Love ya buddy! HARI OM. OM OM OM.

One travels more usefully when alone, because he reflects more.– Thomas Jefferson


Leave a Reply

