Image

Chi-town and Quinoa Purple Sweet Potato Salmon Tacos

My sis (Natalie) and I at Samba Sushi in Chicago.
My sis (Natalie) and I at Samba Sushi in Chicago.

This weekend my sister and I took my Mom to Chicago for Birthday/Christmas present. We ate, worked out, did yoga, went to Phantom of the Opera Broadway and shopped. It was truly a blessing to spend some quality time with my  ladies. I love my sister she is an awesome broad. Anywho we ventured into a swanky electro sushi club called Samba Sushi. Focused on the infusion of Japanese, Columbian, and Peruvian. It was quite interesting! After a few drinks we began to get into the groove of the fast bass music and our shockingly attractive waiter. (wish I took a picture of him) Sorry Nigel! (my boyfriend)

Cute Tea CUP

Cute Tea CUP

Taquito me

Taquito me

DSC_0156

Tempura Green Beans

Tempura Green Beans

Lobster Tempura Roll

Lobster Tempura Roll

Overall the place was so up beat that it kind of freaked us out. The waiter also forgot 2 of our dishes… he was so cute thought that it made up for the bad service. We left satisfied and our waistlines were not bursting either. If your going on a date with a hot miami boy who drives a ferrari and spikes his hair this might be the place for you. The food was good but not out of this world. Fun night though! We headed to the bean the next day. It was a blast.

The Bean!

The Bean!

IMG_0598

The chi town river froze!

The chi town river froze!

When I got home from the windy city my roommate (Rachael) and I created a fabulous dish from the heart. Please excuse my photography skills…for I am still learning. I now understand that I should use a plate that is a different color to make the food stand out. yellow + yellow = way too much yellow

Quinoa Purple Sweet Potato Salmon Tacos : makes 4 tacos

Quinoa and Purple Sweet potato with salmon tacos and a side of roasted butternut squash

Quinoa and Purple Sweet potato with salmon tacos and a side of roasted butternut squash

Ingredients:

2 cups Golden Quinoa

1/2 cup peas

1 diced purple sweet potato

1  diced red onion

1 1/2 tbsp  minced garlic

Olive oil or Coconut oil,

garlic hummus

handful of spinach

1 length wise sliced avocado

1 filet of salmon cut into 4 pieces

1 half fresh lemon

1 tbsp sesame oil

4 corn tortillas

1. Preheat oven to 425.  In a small bowl mix squeezed lemon, 1/2 tsp minced garlic, and sesame oil and then drip over the salmon filets on a baking pan. Let sit for 15 min to marinate.

1. Grasp a lg pot and on medium heat add quinoa and 4 cups of water. Let this come to a rolling boil and add a little salt. Lower heat and cook covered for 20 minutes.

2. While you are cooking the quinoa in a medium skillet add your minced garlic, diced red onion and let cook on medium for 5 min, then add your sweet potato and cook for 15 min stirring occasionally. Then add your peas and cook for 5 min and then add handful of spinach. Throw your salmon in the oven and bake for 13-15 minutes.

3. Turn off heat from quinoa and let stand for 5 minutes. Remove lid and fluffarize it with a fork. Add the sweet potato mixture to the quinoa and stir. Add cayenne, salt, pepper, and what ever spices your feeling.

5. Build your tacos by adding the quinoa, salmon, sliced avocado and a spoonful of hummus. ENJOY EVERY BEAUTIFUL BITE.

Stay tuned for my next culinary adventure. Love, YogiFoodi (Jenny Griffith)

Sunset Feather wave

Sunset Feather wave. Namaste.


Leave a Reply

